Tag: irish music

The Saw Doctors announce 25:25 album which spans the bands entire career.

No Comments

The Saw Doctors: 25:25 Out Nov 16th digital bundle on iTunes + Single “Music I love” 

‘25 songs over 25 years + exclusive bonus commentary from the band’

+ Dublin, Belfast and Killarney shows

Having played their biggest homecoming show this Summer to over 40,000 fans at the Galway Volvo Ocean Race, and after performing over 2,000 shows in the UK, USA and Australia, The Saw Doctors celebrate 25 years together with a new “Best Of” album of 25 very special songs. Running in a rough chronological order through the bands 25 year history, the new “Best Of” traces the band’s career from their ground-breaking debut single  N17 (recently featured in Chris O’Dowd’s TV series Moone Boy) through to last year’s chart topping smash DOWNTOWN with Petula Clark.

Along the way we revisit the infamous I USETA LOVER – Recently voted Ireland’s Favourite Number 1 in 50 years of chart history.  We drop in on the PRESENTATION BOARDERS in Tuam and we hear the story of the legendary DJ Tommy K who was forced out of the Cathedral town after defying the Bishop’s order and running a disco during Lent.

Also included is MICHAEL D. ROCKIN’ IN THE DAIL – President Higgins recently invited Davy, Leo and The Saw Doctors to Aras an Uachtarain for tea and cakes, HOWYA JULIA – a sideways glance at the antics of the Bishop of Galway who disappeared overnight after news of his twenty years affair and teenage son broke out across Ireland.  And the acapella version of RED CORTINA  –  a huge Christmas hit 20 years after it was originally written (and  40 years after the demise of the of the legendary Mark II).

As with all their albums, 25:25 is a celebration of The Saw Doctors West of Ireland heritage.  In their own words:  ‘Born into a repressed, catholic, conservative, small-town, agrarian, angst-ridden and showband infested society we’re trying to preserve the positive elements of our background and marry them to the sounds which have culturally invaded our milieu through TV, radio, 45’s, fast-food restaurants, 24 hour petrol stations and electric blankets’

The Saw Doctors 25:25 Track Listing

1.         Downtown ft. Petula Clark

2.         Red Cortina (Acapella 2010)

3.         I Hope You Meet Again (2012)

4.         N17

5.         Tommy K

6.         Friday Town

7.         Me Heart is Livin’ in the Sixties Still

8.         Takin’ The Train

9.         Galway and Mayo

10.       Presentation Boarder

11.       I’ll Be On My Way (Live)

12.       Goodbye Again

13.       Wake Up Sleeping

14.       Music I Love (2012 Remix)

15.       Villains

16.       Chips

17.       Bless Me Father

18.       Out For A Smoke

19.       Share The Darkness

20.       Mercy Gates

21.       You Got Me On The Run

22.       Michael D. Rocking in the Dail

23.       Howya Julia

24.       Hazard

25.       I Useta Lover (Live)

Irish Dates November/December

The Saw Doctors will play Belfast Mandela Hall on November 23 and Dublin’s Olympia on November 24.  Over Christmas The Saw Doctors will play Portlaoise on December 27 and a New Year’s Eve show in Killarney’s INEC on December 31.

For the Belfast and Dublin shows, The Saw Doctors will feature new backing vocalist, Lindsey Cleary.  The band first met Lindsey in the studio while working with Petula Clark and her vocals just clicked with Davy’s.  Says Leo Moran: ‘Having Lindsey on board will add a completely new dynamic to the shows, allow us to do a bunch of different songs that we haven’t played live before and really showcase the harmonies between Davy and  Lindsey’. 

Links: www.sawdoctors.com / www.facebook.com/sawdoctors

Nationwide to feature GiftedLive.com on tomorrows (Oct 17th) show at 7pm on Rte 1

No Comments

If you are at the TV tomorrow evening Oct 17th The TV Show ‘Nationwide’ on Rte 1 television will be doing a special preview feature on Gifted Live. It will air from 7pm. And trust us, you will like!! http://www.rte.ie/tv/programmes/nationwide.html

Please see some recent videos from Gifted Lives Performances earlier this month:

The Original Rudeboys:

Adela and & the Meanits:

Mojo Fury:

Silhouette and Paul Walsh:

The Red Velvetines:

Pyramid Hill announce Free Gig at the Academy 2 on 18th of October 2012!

No Comments

Pyramid Hill

– Debut EP ‘‘Just Get On’’ out on iTunes Fri Oct 19th Free Gig at the Academy 2 on 18th of October 2012

Dublin RnB outfit ‘Pyramid Hill’ will launch their “Just Get On” EP with a free gig at the Academy 2 venue on Abbey Street, Dublin on the 18th of October 2012. Inspired by a plethora of genres and artists, from blues rock all the way to hip-hop, Pyramid Hill have formed a powerful and cohesive sound categorised by big hooky guitar riffs and backed up by groovy, driving rhythms.

Recorded at the iconic Westland Studios, “Just Get On” was produced and mixed by Lance Hogan (U2, Kila, Sinead O’Connor, Republic of Loose) and mastered by the renowned Don Grossinger (Missy Elliot, Cypress Hill, Run DMC, Public Enemy, Ghostface Killah, and Def Jam Records). The band have compiled a four track EP brimming with emotional content and stinging political rhetoric.

The brainchild of songwriter Eoghan “Oggan Ryan”, the band was formed in 2009 as part of the Ballyfermot College of Further Education’s Contemporary Music Performance course. In such time, the sextet have formed a unique and instantly recognisable sound by traversing genre borders and fusing elements of rock, hip-hop, soul and pop music. The band have garnered a powerful word of mouth endorsement from delivering exciting and energetic live shows; enthralling audiences with songs detailing poignant personal experiences to scathing political statements.

Lance Hogan, acclaimed music producer, said: ‘There is nothing in Ireland that sounds like this. I was immediately attracted by the band’s unique and refreshing sound”.

Pyramid Hill’s “Just Get On” EP will be available to purchase from Tower Records and for download from all good download stores from October 19th 2012.

 www.pyramidhillmusic.com / www.facebook.com/pyramid.hill

www.breakingtunes.com/pyramidhill / Twitter: @pyramidhillrock

Mark Black & The Trips announce tour dates a+ new single.

No Comments

mark black and the trips

Single: Leave Without A Trace + bonus track: Try Out on iTunes Nov 9th

Mark Black & the Trips are led by singer-songwriter and guitarist Mark Black and also features Brendan McGlynn on bass and Seamus Devenny on drums and percussion. Mark Black’s musical credentials include two self-produced studio albums, a double live album and concert DVD featuring the 13 piece big band “The Roots Orchestra”.

‘Leave Without A Trace’, the second single from the album ‘Ghosts In The Fire’ features the power rock trio doing what they do best, with big drums, big guitars and powerful vocal harmonies.  Mixed by Tommy McLaughlin from the Villagers and the video features epic big wave surfing scenes from the West Coast of Ireland.

No strangers to the gigging circuit Mark Black & The Tips have performed at Glastonbury Festival, Sea Sessions, Earagail Arts Festival, Enniskillen Arts Festival and have supported fellow luminaries such as Alabama 3, Paddy Casey, Mundy, Hot House Flowers, Jerry Fish, Brian Kennedy, Duke Special, Glenn Tilbrook and Chris Difford from Squeeze.

They have just announced a November National wide tour with dates listed below.


Fri 2 Nov – Roddens, Buncrana

Fri 9 nov – Boyles, slane (mark solo

Sat 10 Nov – Oyster Bar, Dunfanaghy

Thur 22 Nov – Whelans (Upstairs) with support Colour//Sound

Fri 23 Nov – Greenroom Live, Letterkenny w/ support

Sat 24 nov – cosy corner, Gulladuff, co Derry

Sat 1 Dec  – Mullarkeys Bar, Clifden

Sun 2 Dec – Crane Lane Theatre, Cork