Tag: irish music news

Cork Singer-Songwriter Ruth Brosnan Returns with a New Single ‘Toodle-oo’ Fri Aug 14th

No Comments

Cork singer songwriter Ruth Brosnan returns with a new single ‘Toodle-oo‘ set for release Aug 14th 2020. After completing her BA in Popular Music at CIT Cork School of Music, where she graduated with First Class Honors in May 2018, she set off to LA on a graduate visa to learn more about the music business. 

While in LA, she entered an online competition called The Great American Song Contest and was chosen as a finalist with her debut single, Good Enough, which she says was a great honour. It was also something for which she has had a lifetime of training.

“I always wanted to be a performer. I did a lot of acting and singing with The Performers in the Firkin Crane with Irene Warren, I had been in The Monforts and I was in the Cork School of Dance with Sinead Murphy. I was in pantos with Bryan Flynn and I’m so delighted I got to work with him. These people were all very influential when I was growing up.”

Ruth writes anecdotal songs of the pop/rock genre and has a unique quirky style & personality which shines through in her own songs and performances. Her influences include Kesha, Katy Perry, Gwen Stefani and Sigrid.

Ruth has experienced more than her fair share of heartache already. Having tragically lost her mother and a number of her close friends to suicide, Ruth wrote her previous song ‘Good Enough’ which was reelased to critical acclai last year as a message for those going through tough time and to remind them that they are good enough.

Ruth wrote the ‘Toodle-oo‘ song to help and inspire people.

‘The song is called “Toodle-oo” and focuses on the themes of strength, overcoming adversity and female empowerment, I hope that when people listen to it they can draw inspiration from it’

The song will be available on various different platforms such as Spotify, iTunes, Amazon Music, Google Play, Tidal, Deezer and Apple Music from Aug 14th 2020.

For more info please see:


Electronic duo Analogue Wave announce details of their Debut album

No Comments

…announce details of NEW ALBUM:

n.l.g. W.v.

Analogue Wave are an electronic duo who will release their debut album ‘N.L.G. W.V’ on September 27th. In a time when the general adoption of neoliberal economic policies streamlined throughout the 1980s and 1990s, Analogue Wave forged their sound out of a 1980s grimey recession-laden Dublin.

Del Chaney’s (Vocalist and songwriter) origins began in the school choir room to a Beatles cover band before digressing to serious bouts of poetry. It was this temporary transition that lead him to delve further into his musicality. Deciding that he wanted to find an outlet to diffuse his words amassed with music, he discovered Cubase and began developing Dance Music whilst studying Music Theory. Embarking on the club and dance scene in Dublin and donning various outfits and bands along the way.

The other half of Analogue Wave, Andrew Sneyd otherwise known as Gint, kicked off his venture into music at the tender age of 13 heavily influenced by the likes of Sonic Youth and the Pixies. At 17 he began making electro music starting off on an Amiga 500 computer with a program he had gotten free in a magazine. He would then immerse himself in a DJ career, which saw him play several dates with Belgium’s CJ Bolland who flew him to Belgium for a week in studio. In 2012 Gint and Del had departed from their previous bands and began working on what would become Analogue Wave.

The Dublin duo emerged onto the scene earlier this year with their first single ‘Fingers’ in March followed closely by ‘Mezkal’ in May receiving extensive airplay on various radio stations from the BBC to RTE’s 2fm. Heavily influenced by everything from rock to electro the band takes their unique sound from blending a plethora of genres from reggae to techno all the way back to rock and roll.  Being hailed as Ireland’s answer to Unkle and Massive Attack this pair of musical maestros are the ones to watch in 2013.

This summer will see the band bring their jaw dropping live show to the masses with a full Irish tour on the cards. The band have twisted and re-worked their music into an energetic mix of rock concert and rave with a beautiful visual show. The album art for N.L.G.W.V comes from a controversial 1963 bicycle safety interlude film called ‘One Got Fat’. (see footnotes)



The artwork for n.l.g. W.v. comes from the 1963 bicycle safety interlude film ‘one got fat’, In the film, ten friends, who are children with monkey faces and tails, plan on going to the park for a picnic. They all ride there on their bikes, but each one meets a different fate on their way to the park as a result of their failure to follow specific bike safety rules (like not making hand signals, not reading traffic signs, not riding with traffic, riding double, or riding on the sidewalk). One by one, each of the friends makes a mistake and suffers a horrible fate. In the end, only one of the friends (who not only followed all the bike safety rules, but is also a normal human, whose face is not shown until the very end) makes it to the park and eats all the food by himself. At the start of the PSA, Slim gave the human his picnic because it was large and the human had a rear basket. Seeing this, the others persuaded him to take their food, meaning he has it at the end. Thus, as the title says, “One got fat!” Three of the Monkeys are seen in hospital beds.

The film has been described as a concentrated dose of lab-purified nightmare fuel that makes monkeys more terrifying than they already are. The title ‘n.l.g. W.v.’ came from the tradition used by a lot of artists on their debut album, which is naming it after the actual name of the band, but Analogue Wave wanted to add a twist to this so they removed all the vowels from their name which left ‘n.l.g. W.v.’ which gets its Nationwide release on Sept 27th.

The track list for the album is

1: Devils

2: Mezkal

3: Shine

4: Blame

5: Even still

6: Crawl

7:Someone must fall

8: I hold dear

9: Fingers

10: Narko dub.