Tag: buffy st. marie

Sandi Thom to release new album : Flesh & Blood Aug 24th + free download Single available exclusively from her website from June 4th.

No Comments

Sandi Thom releases new album “Flesh and Blood” on August 24th (27th in Uk)

Produced by Rich Robinson of The Black Crowes

Featuring duet with the iconic Buffy Sainte Marie

Scottish singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist, Sandi Thom is proud to announce  the August 24th release of her fourth studio album Flesh and Blood.  The album was produced by the Black Crowes’ Rich Robinson and recorded at 16 Ton studio in Nashville, Tennessee. This is Sandi’s fourth album following 2010’s critically acclaimed Merchants and Thieves.

The first single, Sun Comes Crashing Down will be available as a free download on www.sandithom.com on June 4th.

Best known for her 2006 No.1 hit single I Wish I Was a Punk Rocker (With Flowers In My Hair), Flesh and Blood is a significant release, being Sandi’s sophomore studio album, released solely by her independent label Guardian Angels Records (distributed by NOVA through Universal Music Operations).

The highly anticipated new album radiates the raunchy blues rock bravado of the opening track Help Me, followed by the country-flavoured Leadbelly classic In The Pines, that funks it up on the strutting, clavinet-led Stormy Weather; and inevitably breaks your heart, with the emotionally compelling finale Lay Your Burden Down.

The new album features an all-star ensemble led by Black Crowes Rich Robinson, drummer Steve Gorman and fellow Black Crowe and widely travelled session guitarist Audley Freed, respected Nashville stars Mike Webb (keys/Dobro) and James Haggerty (bass) complete the line-up with special guest appearances from acclaimed singer-songwriter Buffy Sainte Marie and famous Rolling Stones collaborator, the legendary saxophonist Bobby Keys.

“Sandi really stretched herself and made a bold new album,” reflects Rich Robinson, “Her songs are honest, vulnerable and very strong.  Her vocal abilities are showcased really well, as is her guitar work, and harp playing. I think Sandi’s made a great record. It was a joy to work with her.”

Legendary classic rock producer Kevin Shirley (Led Zeppelin, The Black Crowes, Joe Bonamassa) also mixed two tracks, Sun Comes Crashing Down and a duet with Buffy Sainte Marie on the latter’s classic song, Big Ones Get Away.

“Sandi’s writing is fantastic,” says Shirley, “and her singing is wonderful. Sun Comes Crashing Down has all the right ingredients to be a hit.”

The intriguingly titled I Love You Like A Lunatic, is based on her “life-changing” love affair with superstar blues guitarist Joe Bonamassa. The couple have been together three years now, living and loving on and off the road. Celebrated music journalist Mick Wall likens it to a modern-day Johnny Cash and June Carter fairy-tale. “My life just turned crazy,” says Sandi, it’s what everybody wants, that insane kind of love that utterly consumes you.”

Sandi feels that Flesh and Blood is her coming of age album. “All I ever want to do is write songs that connect with people,” says Sandi. “With this album I’ve finally found a place where I can make the very best music I can achieve. The people that only know me from Punk Rocker won’t recognise me on this album. They will discover another side to me entirely.

Flesh and Blood – Track Listing

  1. Help Me (4:34)
  2. I Owe You Zero (3:24)
  3. Flesh And Blood (4:28)
  4. Sun Comes Crashing Down (4:03)
  5. In The Pines (4:59)
  6. The Big Ones Get Away (4:05)
  7. Stormy Weather (4:31)
  8. I See The Devil In You (3:55)
  9.  Rise As One (3:06)
  10. I Love You Like A Lunatic (4:52)
  11. Save Some Mercy For Me (4:37)
  12. Lay Your Burden Down (5:40) 

#  #  #

Official Website: www.sandithom.com

Facebook:  www.facebook.com/sandithom

Twitter: www.twitter.com/Sandi_Thom

YouTube: www.youtube.com/sandithom

For interview opportunities and album review copies, please contact:

Linda Coogan Byrne/ Good Seed PR