One of the finest British rock acts ‘The Cult’ has wrapped up recording ‘Choice of Weapon’.

No Comments

One of the finest British rock acts to have enjoyed worldwide success over the last few decades, The Cult has wrapped up recording ‘Choice of Weapon’,



2012 World Tour Details Coming Soon

One of the finest British rock acts to have enjoyed worldwide success over the last few decades, The Cult has wrapped up recording ‘Choice of Weapon’, the group’s first studio album in five years.  Released on 21st May 2012 in UK (and May 18th in Ireland) on their new UK label Cooking Vinyl, its 10 tracks reveal the band at its rawest and most visceral, encapsulating cinematic visions and themes of love, revolt, and redemption.   Fans can get an early taster of the album from 2pm on Tuesday 31st January when the track ‘Lucifer’ will be available as a free download through the band’s website  Details are being confirmed for a worldwide tour and will be announced soon.

‘Choice of Weapon’ is the follow up to the critically-acclaimed 2007 release ‘Born Into This’ that the UK’s Mojo magazine called “a wholehearted, utopian and irrefutably exciting record.”  Long-time Cult collaborator and producer Bob Rock (Metallica, Bush) – who produced one of The Cult’s most successful albums, the platinum-certified ‘Sonic Temple’ – put the finishing touches on the foundations that were laid by co-producer Chris Goss (Queens of the Stone Age, U.N.K.L.E., Masters of Reality).

The record was written by Ian Astbury and Billy Duffy, recorded in New York City, Los Angeles, the California high desert, and the band’s Witch Mountain studios in the Hollywood Hills between July and December 2011.  The new release features founding members Astbury on vocals and Duffy on guitars, with drummer John Tempesta and bassist Chris Wyse.  “We have had the opportunity to work with two of the most influential and talented producers in the world today,” said Astbury.  “They pushed us beyond our comfort zone, and helped us craft ‘Choice of Weapon.’”

The album is aimed at the heart of The Cult’s loyal following.  It reflects the current discontent and destruction of our eco systems, the search for individual meaning against a tide of rampant materialism, narcissism and disconnected lives.  “We went deeper . . . we worked a bit harder on this record.  We have great fans and they deserve our best,” added Duffy, “and I feel this is one of our best records, maybe the best.”

The album is released as a special edition fan pack on May 14th, followed by digital and double vinyl on May 21st (May 18th in Ireland) and the CD and deluxe CD’s on June 4th (June 1st in Ireland) .

The tracklisting is as follows:

Honey from a Knife / Elemental Light / The Wolf / Life > Death / For The Animals

Amnesia / Wilderness Now / Lucifer / A Pale Horse / This Night In The City Forever

Bonus CD tracks:

Every Man And Woman Is A Star / Embers / Until The Light Takes Us / Siberia

Follow The Cult:             

Official Web Site –

Facebook –

Twitter – @THE_CULT_ NYC


The Cult, 2012

Photo Credit:  Michael Lavine

LEFT TO RIGHT:  Billy Duffy, Chris Wyse, Ian Astbury, John Tempesta

Irish PR Contact: Linda Coogan Byrne


Categories: Latest News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *