DOES IT OFFEND YOU,YEAH? new album announced.

No Comments


DIOYY return with the first great album of 2011 with the release of

“DON’T SAY WE DIDN’T WARN YOU” March 11TH (IN IRELAND & 14th IN UK) on Cooking Vinyl

Does it Offend You Yeah  are set to release their second full-length studio album, ‘Don’t Say We Didn’t Warn You’ on March 11th on Cooking Vinyl.

‘Don’t Say We Didn’t Warn You’, is an album that surprises and astounds at every turn; unpredictability is king, no barrier is left un-demolished. It’s a spectacular rebirth, a breaking out of boxes.

It is the follow up to 2008’s ‘You Have Know Idea What You’re Getting Yourself Into’, an album that was too spikey-around-the-edges to fit into any genre and saw the band confounding expectations at every turn. But  DIOY,Y? blew up big, making a huge impact on the gig scene with their incendiary live performances, remixing everyone from Muse to Bloc Party to The White Stripes, and damn near breaking America, going on missions of electro conversion across North America in support of The Prodigy, Nine Inch Nails and Linkin Park and their own sold-out headline tour.

Their new album, ‘Don’t Say We Didn’t Warn You’ is compiled from the “million” songs that DIOY,Y? self-recorded – over six months in a tiny studio in Reading towards the end of 2009 and in piecemeal bedroom’n’kitchen sessions throughout 2010.

“Don’t Say We Didn’t Warn You” opens with the  resurrection march of ‘We Are The Dead’, a zombie barn-dance interspersed with 60s-psych acoustic interludes and is currently available as free download online. “It’s about reincarnation and regeneration,” grins frontman, James Rushent “Coming back from the dead that’s why we picked it as our first free giveaway, to say we’re still alive.”

The anarcho-Prodigy ‘The Wrestler (This Is The Dance)’ includes a sample from 1999 wrestling movie Beyond The Mat which summed up the band’s feelings: “we’re too extreme, we’re too wild, we’re too out of control… fuck you you’re wrong! Fuck you, we’re right!”. The fantastic electro-pop ‘Pull Out My Insides’ (“Stay with me while I make mistakes”) is an attack on the soulful-yet-soulless mainstream pap, riddled with fantasies about their mass cultural cull at the hands of the righteous underground. A cull forseen in ‘The Monkeys Are Coming’, a real rave-rock shit-flinger that resets the spring-loaded spike trap at the heart of DIOY,Y? and asserts their position as the prickliest tech-rock punks on the planet.

“The monkeys represent art in its true form, just fucking mess,” says James. “I think it’s about time we have a fucking mess. We were a year and a half ago in the studio, going ‘fuck them, fuck her, fuck him’. We want to perform music that, if we heard it, we’d go ‘oh, who’s that?’ rather than ‘here’s another fucking 60s soul artist’. It was stressful, panicky and hard work. It’s the nature of how we work, it’s like trying to put a jigsaw together where you don’t know what the picture is at the end. I feel like we’ve come across the finish line with our pants hanging halfway down our legs.”

But what a triumphant finish. Fusing their original concoction of Justice, Metronomy and Prodigy with a new sense of stylistic adventure and synthetic violence all their own, ‘Don’t Say We Didn’t Warn You’ promises to be one of 2011’s most visceral and inventive – yet surprisingly accessible – assaults on the senses. When it’s not delving into Soviet squelches, Billy Holiday-esque vocal samples and grime raps courtesy of educated battler Trip on ‘Wondering’, it’s recreating the Blade Runner soundtrack on ‘The Knife’,  or coming on like a meta-Muse on ‘John Hurt’ – so named because the legendary actor was due to feature on the track, until the band’s ex-manager missed his ‘window’.

Acoustic guitar segments drop unexpectedly out of hardcore techno thrashes. Zulu chants weave around cartoon monster glam stomps. ‘Don’t Say We Didn’t Warn You’ surprises and astounds at every turn; unpredictability is king, no barrier is left un-demolished. It’s a spectacular rebirth, a breaking out of boxes, as evinced by the two tracks which bookend it. At the far end you have the devastating ‘Broken Arms’, a virtually synth-free suicide ballad redolent of Radiohead’s ‘Motion Picture Soundtrack’, the first song written for the album in an attempt to do “something completely different”.

And how. Finally free of their major label shackles , DIOY,Y? couldn’t feel more unleashed, in control, reanimated. They’re one of the few bands around today who feel capable of anything, restrained by no-one and thrilled to be beating at the boundaries of their own possibilities.

“This is our break-out album,” says Dan. “It has got balls-out angry stuff and serene melancholic, quite depressing stuff as well. We’d rather show all our hands like that rather than write a whole album that sounds the same.”

A good plan, since this is hair-raising stuff: a laser blast from the underground, future rock rebels running riot. Don’t say they didn’t warn you…


Track listing

  1. we are the dead
  2. john hurt
  3. pull out my insides
  4. yeah
  5. monkeys
  6. wrong time wrong planet
  7. wrestler
  8. wondering
  9. the knife
  10. broken arms

DIOYY are:

  • James Rushent
  • Dan Coop
  • Rob Bloomfield
  • Matty Derham
  • Chloe Duveaux / / / /


Categories: Latest News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *